Sunday, January 21, 2018

Stacking the Shelves #252 & the Weekly Wrap-Up!

This bookish meme tells the blogosphere what all we borrowed, bought, and received for review. It's hosted over at Tynga's Reviews.

For Review:
Notes from My CaptivityOnyx and Ivory
Always Forever MaybeMarkswoman (Asiana, #1)
The Last to Let GoA Kiss in the Dark
Starry EyesThe Wicked Deep
Save the DateMariam Sharma Hits the Road

From Edelweiss

Now a Major Motion Picture

From the publisher

Bought: 
Batman: Nightwalker (DC Icons, #2)

From the Library:
Three Sides of a Heart: Stories about Love TrianglesIn Real Life

My face after I saw Edelweiss' approvals this week:
Image result for omg yes gif

The Weekly Wrap-Up!

Tuesday 01/16/18: Top 10 Bookish Resolutions/ Goals
Wednesday 01/17/18: Waiting on Wednesday:  A Blade so Black by L. L. McKinney
Friday 01/19/18: Book Blogger Hop: Common Bookish Habit
 Saturday 01/20/18:  Truly Devious by Maureen Johnson

Me on Instagram


We still have the Circus theme going on at our branch and this week's storytime was Circus Foods. They LOVED buttering their popcorn! (Oh the magic you can do with construction paper, cotton, food coloring, and water lol) 


I had a bad day and I NEEDED this glass of wine AND this book. 


I cannot get my reviews up on time even when I finish the book on time because I have a 55 pound lap dog who thinks he doesn't weigh anything smh

Sock Sunday last week was NOT fun. In TEXAS we were battling temps that were WAYYYYYY too low for us, so I stayed in with a hot cup of coffee and some really thick socks. You know it's cold when nothing matches and your main priority is staying warm lolol 

What went on at your blog this week?! 
Leave your Wrap-Up/ Weekly Haul links in the comments! 


Saturday, January 20, 2018

Truly Devious by Maureen Johnson

e-ARC, 432 pages
Release Date: January 16, 2018
Published by: HarperCollins
Read from: January 15-20, 2018
Truly Devious, #1
Source: Edelweiss (I received a copy of this book from the Edelweiss and the Publisher in exchange for a just and honest review. This did nothing to influence my review.) 
For fans of:  True Crime, Thrillers, Mysteries, YA

     New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson weaves a delicate tale of murder and mystery in the first book of a striking new series, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and E. Lockhart.
     Ellingham Academy is a famous private school in Vermont for the brightest thinkers, inventors, and artists. It was founded by Albert Ellingham, an early twentieth century tycoon, who wanted to make a wonderful place full of riddles, twisting pathways, and gardens. “A place,” he said, “where learning is a game.”
     Shortly after the school opened, his wife and daughter were kidnapped. The only real clue was a mocking riddle listing methods of murder, signed with the frightening pseudonym “Truly, Devious.” It became one of the great unsolved crimes of American history.
     True-crime aficionado Stevie Bell is set to begin her first year at Ellingham Academy, and she has an ambitious plan: She will solve this cold case. That is, she will solve the case when she gets a grip on her demanding new school life and her housemates: the inventor, the novelist, the actor, the artist, and the jokester. But something strange is happening. Truly Devious makes a surprise return, and death revisits Ellingham Academy. The past has crawled out of its grave. Someone has gotten away with murder.
     The two interwoven mysteries of this first book in the Truly Devious series dovetail brilliantly, and Stevie Bell will continue her relentless quest for the murderers in books two and three.

*MY THOUGHTS*

    When I saw this I wasn't really into it. It wasn't something that immediately jumped to the top of my TBR pile because it was by an author I haven't yet read. (Don't kill me lol) But I saw the phrase "True Crime aficionado" and I was super interested..... Because that's me.
"Schools may be famous for manay things: academics, graduates, sports, teams. They are not supposed to be famous for murders."
4%
     Stevie Bell is obsessed with the Ellingham case. This is what gets her accepted to the Ellingham Academy, where she plans to solve the cold case that the school has. But as she works on the cold case, another mystery comes up when the original jokester, Truly Devious, makes a return.....
"Her mother gave her that look again. We kind of wanted the going-out, shopping, prom-going type, and we got this weird, creepy one , and we love it but what is it talking about, ever?"
6%
    Y'all this book was super wild. There were two mysteries going on that made it difficult to guess who the killer was. Johnson also barely gives you any clues which also makes it hard to guess who the culprit is. She times it in a great way and because of that, I was thankful. One of my pet peeves of thrillers is being able to tell who did it, so I applaud Johnson for not making it easy on me. 
"Stevie had no fears of the dead. The living, however, sometimes gave her the creeps."
37%
   I also loved the characters. Stevie was so relatable. If you come to my house on any given day, the tv is on and it's on Oxyen or ID. I love True Crime and I find myself watching it all the time. I could definitely understand her wanting to be in everyone's business lol All of the others were interesting as well, which made the story so much more enjoyable. 
"Games are not fun when you don't know you're playing."
46%
    The only thing I didn't care for was the length and the "romance." I wasn't sure that it was neccessary, but I can tell it was at the "ending." (I'll get there in a minute lol) And I can't help but think that it was a touch too long. I'm not sure how to explain it because I think it was too long, but I also think it wasn't long enough to give us a real ending? I guess it was a bit too drawn out.
"But she had seen all she needed to. You know death when you see it."
53%
     Overall, there was so much more that I wanted to find out about this book! I can honestly say I am excited to find out about the rest of the series and I usually never say that with books that have cliff-hangers. This is one sequel I will definitely be waiting on in 2019!
Overall, I give this


Friday, January 19, 2018

Book Blogger Hop: Common Bookish Habit


 When reading a mass paperback book, many people fold the cover back, as if they were reading a magazine. Doing this will eventually create creases in the spine. How do you feel about this common bookish habit?

If you do it, that's fine.... BUT DO NOT BEND BACK THECOVER OF MY BOOK.
(This is EXACTLY why I mostly own hardbacks lol)  

What about you?!

Thursday, January 18, 2018

Don't Cosplay with My Heart by Cecil Castellucci

e-ARC, 288 pages
Release Date: January 2, 2018
Published by: Soho Teen
Read from: January 15, 2018
Stand-alone
Source: Edelweiss (I received a copy of this book from the Edelweiss and the Publisher in exchange for a just and honest review. This did nothing to influence my review.) 
For fans of:  Contemporary, Romance, YA

     When Edan Kupferman dresses up like her favorite character, Gargantua, she feels tall and powerful. That's important right now, because her family is a mess, her best friend is gone for the summer, her crush is confusing, and Edan's feeling small and not sure which end is up.
     When Edan's cosplaying, she can be angry, loud, and not the good girl everyone thinks she is. And when she's at conventions, she feels like she's found her own Team Tomorrow. But when her personal life starts to spiral out of control, Edan has to figure out whether she needs a sidekick, or if she has the strength to be the hero of her own story.

*MY THOUGHTS*

     When I first saw the title of this I just KNEW it was going to be something that I loved. And yet when I finally got around to it, it just didn't meet my expectations. 
     Edan Kupferman 's favorite comic is Team Tomorrow. They also have her favorite hero/villain, Gargantua. Becoming her as a cosplay character makes her feel so much better than she has been, espcially since life isn't exactly stellar at the moment. 
     Ok, so maybe because I read other books that feature nerds, I was expecting much more than I was given. It just seemed to not flow like those others did. This was so unfortunate because I really wanted to like this book. I love cosplay and I just knew putting it with a book was something I needed. But I just could not with the storyline. There was wayyyyyy too much going on. From the very first page we are thrust into this really bad situation with her dad. I made it to page 50 with it still being a bad thing but the main character never really explained it. She glossed over what it was, but there was no real explantation.
     And then there was the way she repeated EVERYTHING. Maybe that's the writing style, but it got old really fast. I did not care to read the phrase "I like" something repeated so many different times. It got so annoying. (Check page 8 in the final print. It does that on numerous pages for different phrases. 
     I also didn't care for the main character. To say I was inside her head for 50 pages, I still felt like I didn't know her. She never gave us her background and we never knew more about her besides the fact that she cosplays and has never been to a conference. That's all we find out in 50 pages. I just could not finish this.
     It doesn't seem like it's a bad story, but it's just not for me. I made it to page 50 and could not continue. 
DNF @ page 50

Wednesday, January 17, 2018

Waiting on Wednesday: A Blade so Black by L.L. McKinney


This bookish meme tells the blogosphere what we're waiting patiently (and sometimes not so patiently) for! It's hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine!

A Blade So Black


     The first time the Nightmares came, it nearly cost Alice her life. Now she's trained to battle monstrous creatures in the dark dream realm known as Wonderland with magic weapons and hardcore fighting skills. Yet even warriors have a curfew.
     Life in real-world Atlanta isn't always so simple, as Alice juggles an overprotective mom, a high-maintenance best friend, and a slipping GPA. Keeping the nightmares at bay is turning into a full-time job. But when Alice's handsome and mysterious mentor is poisoned, she has to find the antidote by venturing deeper into Wonderland than she’s ever gone before. And she'll need to use everything she's learned in both worlds to keep from losing her head . . . literally.

Published by: Imprint
Expected Publication: September 25, 2018

Why I'm Waiting: Normally I use my most anticipated book of the year as the first WoW of the year, but this year I didn't have a cover or synopsis to use. Now that they're here, I can honestly say this is without a doubt my most anticipated book of 2018. I cannot wait to have this book in my hands! It not only has a gorgeous cover, but it also sounds amazing! ANDDDDD it's a retelling of Alice in Wonderland! Y'all know retellings are my kroptyonite! I can read them all day! And let's be real, if you think I'm not excited about fantasy with a black girl, you're outta your mind!!!!!!!!!!!  (P.S. Y'ALL THIS COVER GIVES ME CHILLSSSSS!)

What are you waiting on this week?
Will you be waiting on this with me?